Book Rec: The Mists of Avalon GO READ IT DON’T EVEN READ THIS POST JUST READ IT

GO BUY IT ON AMAZON HERE THIS WHOLE SENTENCE IS A LINK.

mists

Okay, maybe you want to know more. And that’s understandable. Please read on.

This book. Ermahgerd this book. Okay, so it’s a retelling of the Arthurian Legend from the point of view of the females. And it’s beautiful. It’s female empowerment meets legend and kickassery all at the same damn time. The book also discusses mythology and the conflicts between Christianity and Paganism/Druidism and I would recommend it to everyone. If you’re Pagan/earth-based, Christian, anything. It’s so, so interesting. I lean more toward the earth-based religion side of the spectrum myself, as did Marion Zimmer Bradley when she wrote it, but the book acknowledges the truths in both religions and that all divine beings are One, even if those who worship them are not.

And it is so, so long, but I promise it’s worth it. In almost 900 pages we follow the ENTIRE lives of a BUNCH of characters through the ups and downs (a lot of downs, this is not generally a happy go lucky book but again don’t let that stop you!), and it’s such an experience. Characters are well rounded and complex, and it’s so incredible. I read it slowly over the course of six months (lots of schoolwork. lots.) and never felt like if I went a month without reading, I forgot something. It was like I was just casually living a bunch of lives.
Personally, I’m an Arthurian legend nerd, and of course I enjoy Monty Python’s Quest for the Holy Grail (the Grail is mentioned in this book!), and I enjoy feminism and learning about early religions, so for me, this book was just everything.

And the best part is that if you want to read more, there are two other books in this trilogy, and then four more books co-written by Bradley and her friend, who continued her work after she died. I haven’t gotten to those yet, but you will, of course, be updated when I do.

Okay, now go click on that link.

Happy reading!!

Morgan

Leave a Reply

