Art Therapy on a Saturday Night (featuring my cat)

20140208-235852.jpg

(I apologize in advance for the crappy iPod photos)

It’s been quite the night around here. Earlier, I thought I was tired, so I decided I’d go to bed at the uncharacteristically early hour of 9:30. Seems like a smart decision yes? Listening to my body and such?  Well, as soon as I hopped into bed, I realized I wasn’t tired at all, so I hopped on the internet.  And out of nowhere,  I began to get SO frustrated at nothing and everything at the same time. I still don’t know what it was or what triggered it. I don’t know if you know this feeling, and I don’t know that I can describe it very well, but it was no bueno. I simultaneously wanted to throw things, run three miles (which I physically am not even capable of) and just sleep. It was really weird for me, because I don’t normally have moodswings or whatever you want to call them. I don’t even know if that’s what it was, or it was just a lot of stress bubbling up. I knew all three of the previous options were out of the question, so I decided to clean my room and open my window and inhale some fresh air and to paint. It started getting better after I stuck my head out the window and took some deep breaths, but I still wasn’t satisfied.  I just wanted to do SOMETHING and get whatever it was out of my system.  And, magically, once I pulled out the brushes and started painting, everything started to melt away. Maybe it was my body telling me GO MAKE ART. STOP WORKING FOR ONCE. STOOOPPP.

20140208-235721.jpg
Well, it worked. I started painting a peacock who I have yet to name. I set up everything so I could just sit on my bed and paint and turned on Pandora. It was lovely.

20140208-235808.jpg

20140209-000029.jpg

But really, I’ve got to learn how to relax. I make to-do lists on the weekends and then I procrastinate and stress myself out. I put painting on the to-do list, but it never gets done. Should painting even be a task to do? Shouldn’t it just kind of be for fun when you feel like it? I have to learn how to balance work and an actual life.

And then, when I started to get tired of it, I stopped. This was also good. Usually I paintpaintpaint until it’s done because I’m worried I won’t feel like painting the next day, but when I felt myself start to get actually tired and a little frustrated, I cleaned my brushes (which is so cathartic for me, I lovveee it) and put everything away. I probably should have stopped before these weird orange circles I put on there that I actually kind of hate a little right now, but I can always come back to it later.

20140208-235831.jpg

And now me and my handsome little man Owie (technically Owen, but we’re not very formal around here at midnight) are chilling out and bonding and perusing Etsy. I love cats. I love painting. I love blogs.

20140209-000454.jpg

And I hope you all have a great day/night wherever you are. Thanks for reading my weird emotionz rant.

We are off to bed.

🙂

Morgan

One thought on “Art Therapy on a Saturday Night (featuring my cat)

Leave a Reply

